Writing outside of NaNoWriMo.


IMG_3916 copy“From The Grasp Of Time.” is a novel I am writing now to the tune of 50,000 words minimum. It is a YA novel and frankly a very Catholic one. I will be aiming this one at religious publishing houses for YA books. Like in the vein of CS Lewis and JRR Tolkien. Others also have written in that vein so its not an unusual method. This is also not my first novel. I have one that being edited now that was written during the 2013 year. 2014 I decided not to write a new book, but work on the one I already had. I then shopped for an editor for it. I would have been done with it by now, but took a six month pause, while saving up for a new computer after my old one (and two others) were stolen from  our home the Morning of December 26, 2014. I was in agony while waiting and of myself writing by hand again. Something I used to figure it was waste of time and energy because I have to re-write thing to get them digitized. That when I realized I was mistaken. In many way, sketches by writing or drawing actually made the book better. I am after all an Visual Artist  Storyteller. Something that only typing the words out the first time, often misses things I see in my minds eye, but not always have the vocabulary ready to describe it.

Writing is a labor of love and occasional exasperation. It is also at times, an ego trip. I also find, I actually do more walking and exercise when I write regularly. If only because ones backside can only sit for a certain amount of time before feeling flees the flesh.

Heres to all in your writing adventures. Just make sure you take plenty of stops to stretch and drink healthy water to keep your inner ink fluid.

https://nancylouise2.files.wordpress.com/2015/11/img_3916-copy.jpg?w=300Catch you later writers!

Nancy Louise

Advertisements

If a pizza is a vegetable, can I have extra meat with that?


When I first heard that the law governing the crossing of cabbage from one state line to another was 27,000 words long, I was dumbfounded and wondered why. So I went and took a gander at it to see why. In doing so, I found the whole thing was a piece of American Folklore. The familiar quote went something like this.

“The Lord’s Prayer is 66 words, the Gettysburg Address is 286 words, and there are 1,322 words in the Declaration of Independence, but U.S. government regulations on the sale of cabbage total 26,911 words.”      National Review

So this brings to mind, how many words did it take to change a pizza to a vegetable for school lunches? The real coreof the story however, is less stellar for entertainment.

As for trying to pull the wool over your Mom or spouse’s eyes for Pizza being nutritious enough to beat out a salad, don’t bother. It might have much nutrients packed in that pasta sauce, but the grease from meat, cheese kill it. If you made it a whole wheat and mostly fresh vegetable with minimum cheese, then you are starting to talk more healthy, but what’s the fun in that? Now about that healthy burger, fries and shake. Would you believe a boca,burger, baked fries, and a smoothie, no sugar instead?

 Nah, bring on the Cheese fries and a chocolate shake, but don’t tell my doctor!
Nancy Louise